(Shadowtime Home)


Explore the author's map to discover strange stories from Mitcham and the surrounding areas.



Front Cover


Part 1 - Mitcham:

The Phantom Cyclist
of Mitcham Common
(update to Strange Mitcham)

A Dark Figure on Mitcham Common

Tales from the
Vestry Hall

'Calico Jack': The
Playful Ghost of
Lacks the Drapers

The Faces on the Walls:
Hancock's Cottages

The Haunted Cottages
in Tramway Path

The 'Haunting' of
Hall Place

The Spectral
Soldier of Graham

The Legend of
Mitcham Fair

Remember the Grotto

The Phantom of
the 'Folly'

An Apparition at
Woof & Sabine

Haunted Rooms at
Fry Metals

The Phantom Cat

Mitcham's (not so)
Haunted Mansion

The Kingston Zodiac

The 'Ghost Tree'

Ghostly Gardeners,
Medicinal Plants and
A Magical Tree

The 'Thing'

The Wrath of God

A Ghostly Experience
in Morden Road

Mitcham Clock Tower:
When Time Ran

The Rosier Family

The 'Ball of Fire'

UFO over Mitcham
Common, 2004

UFO over Tooting
  Bec Common, 1990

Part 2 - South of
Mitcham Common:

Carew Manor

The Ghosts of
Beddington Park

Beddington Parish
Church & Churchyard

The Figure in the

Under Beddington

A Spectral Cavalier

Other Information:

Author's website

'Haunted Mitcham' Facebook group:

Facebook group set up
by Geoff Mynn in
January 2015

Heritage maps

Thanks to the
Mitcham Society
and Merton Council
there are some very
nice heritage
maps of Mitcham

Download for free
via this link.

The Mitcham Ghost

Strange Mitcham
(2002): Errata


Mitcham's (not so) Haunted Mansion

The most substantial relic of Merton Priory [1] was discovered by accident. When Sir Arthur Liberty established his print works on the old priory grounds, he had several of the more dilapidated buildings on the site destroyed, and in 1914 demolition work on one house uncovered a magnificent stone Norman archway.

Archaeologists believe this archway to have been the entrance to the Priory's Guest House. After the Dissolution, the arch was retained and used as the front door to a mansion house, which, according to W H Chamberlain in his Reminiscences of Old Merton (1925), later acquired a reputation for being haunted.

Unearthly Sounds

During the early years of the 19th Century, it seems that the mansion was a forbidding structure, standing alone and abandoned near the Priory's old burial grounds. Abandoned it may have been, but there were plenty of villagers who were terrified to walk past after dark because of the unearthly sounds that could be heard emanating from within.

In about 1820, a small band of brave souls elected to visit the creaky old building to discover the source of these sounds. Led by the silk printers Messrs Bradshaw and Wagland, the group armed themselves with sticks and candles and waited for darkness to descend.

That night, as they stood guard, the eerie noises began again and, listening carefully, the investigators determined that the disturbance was coming from the direction of the staircase. Rushing forward to illuminate that area with their candles, they found not ghosts but hordes of water rats swarming up and down the steps.

With the mysterious sounds thus explained, Bradshaw and Wagland decided to follow the rats' example and they moved into the building. The creatures were dealt with and the printers obtained the house at a low rental, made repairs and kept the property for several years. They were succeeded by a Mr Littler who took over their silk printing business and moved into the building with his family.

Later, the house passed into the possession of Messrs. Liberty & Co. Ltd, who decided to have it pulled down. At some point in the building's past, the Norman arch had been plastered over, but now it was revealed again. Because of its historical value it was carefully preserved and in 1935 it was rebuilt in the church grounds of St Mary the Virgin in Merton Park where it can still be seen today.


[1] There is a tradition that the site of Merton Priory is cursed - see Strange Mitcham for details.

[Source: Chamberlain, W H (1925) Reminiscences of Old Merton.]

© James Clark. All rights reserved. Should you wish to refer to material presented here you are most welcome to quote a short excerpt (of no more than one or two paragraphs) provided you give full attribution and supply a link back to this website. Use of longer excerpts will require the author's prior written permission - by all means feel free to ask! But please DO NOT steal my work by copying great chunks and posting them in their entirety without permission. Thank you.

Free website templates

Website hosting by Prehoc Solutions Ltd